Image default

Chiranjeevi | 8 Immortals In Hindu Religion, Will Live Till Kaliyuga Last

Chiranjivis are 8 immortals in Hindu religion who are to remain alive on Earth until the end of the current KaliYuga. Hindu scripture contains a mantra about the seven immortals, in which their names are recited for luck and longevity.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion
The Eight Immortals of Hindu Mythology

अश्वत्थामा बलिव्र्यासो हनूमांश्च विभीषण:। कृप: परशुरामश्च सप्तएतै चिरजीविन:॥ सप्तैतान् संस्मरेन्नित्यं मार्कण्डेयमथाष्टमम्। जीवेद्वर्षशतं सोपि सर्वव्याधिविवर्जित॥

Ashwathaama Balirvyaaso Hanumanshcha Vibheeshanaha

Krupaha Parshuramascha Saptaitey Chiranjivinaha

Saptaitaan Samsmareynnityam Markandeymathaashtamam

Jivedvarshshatam Sopi Sarvavyadhivivarjit

The above lines mean that by daily remembering these 8 immortals (Ashwatthama, King Bali, Ved Vyasa, Hanuman, Vibhishan, Kripacharya, Parashuram, and Rishi Markandaya) one can be free of all ailments and live for 100 years. These are also referred to as the 8 great warriors.

1. Bali

Bali, also known as Maha Bali was Asura King and the virtuous emperor of the three worlds. During the Vamana avatar, Lord Vishnu blessed him to be a Chiranjivi. Every year on the day of Onam, he descends to earth from the heavens to visit his people, those of the region of Kerala.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

2. Markandeya

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

Markendeya is a devotee of Lord Shiva and was granted immortality by him when Shiva and Yama (the God of death) fought to decide the Rishi’s destiny.

3. Parashurama

He is the 6th avatar of Lord Vishnu, he is known as the master of all Astras, shastras and divine weapons. The Kalki Purana writes that he will re-emerge at the end time to the martial guru of Kalki. Parashurama will then guide the Kalki avatar to go through penance to receive celestial weaponry, needed to save mankind.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

4. Vibhishana

He was the brother of Ravana. Vibhishana helped Lord Rama in his battle with Ravana. Later, he was crowned king of Lanka after Ravana was killed by Rama. Vibhishana was made a Chiranjeevi so that he can maintain good deeds and righteousness in Lanka and can guide people about the paths of Dharma.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

5. Lord Hanuman

Lord Hanuman was a true devotee of Lord Rama and his strength, form, and knowledge characterize him. It is said that Lord Hanuman requested to stay on Earth as long as people worship Lord Rama. It is believed that Lord Hanuman visit the place wherever the name of Lord Ram is taken. Whoever remembers  Lord Hanuman from his pure heart and soul will always overcome life’s miseries and obstacles. Chiranjeevi Hanuman is always the one who arrives first and leaves last from a Ram Katha. It is said that Lord Hanuman visits the Mathang community in Sri Lanka every 41 years.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

6. Vyasa

The sage who composed the Mahabharata. He represents intellect and wisdom. It is said the Vyasa has seen three Yugas. He was born towards the end of Tretayuga and he was there to witness the complete Dwaparayuga and also saw the initial years of Kali Yuga. It is also said that Ved Vyasa is immortal and he never died. Seeing the widespread violence in today’s times, he is said to have moved back into some remote village in Northern India.

Vyasa is considered one of the many Avatars of Lord Vishnu. Veda Vyasa is a post and there will be a different Vyaasa for every Maha Yuga (4 Yugas together is a Mahayuga). The current Vyasa for this Maha Yuga is the son of Paraasara. For the next Maha Yuga, Aswatthama will be the Veda Vyasa.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

7. KripaCharya

Kripa was the Kul Guru of the Kurus during the Mahabharat. After his involvement in Kurukshetra, he worked as a teacher and guru for Parikshit who is the grandson of Arjuna. He is known for his impartiality in carrying out his duties. The reason behind Kripacharya being immortal was that Lord Krishna has offered him a boon that he will be immortal.

8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

 8. Ashwatthama

He was the son of Drona, a great warrior. Drona performed severe penance for many years to please Lord Shiva to obtain a son who possessed the same valiance as Lord Shiva. Ashwatthama is the avatar of one of the eleven Rudras. He acted out of cowardice to avenge the killing of his father, resulting in a curse of immortality. Ashwatthama and Kripa are known to be the lone survivors who are still alive and who actually fought in the Kurukshetra War. He might be immortal but Lord Krishna gave him a curse that his body will be covered with sores and ulcers that would never cure.

Ashwatthama | 8 Immortals In Hindu Religion

These are the eight immortals in Hinduism who are still alive. If you liked the story, do share it with your friends.

Related posts

Brihadeeshwara Temple – History, Architecture, Interesting Facts, How to Reach & Timings

Aayushi Rana

Vijaya Vittala Temple – Temple with Mysterious Musical Pillars at Hampi

Anoushka Das

Top 15 Bhagavad Gita Quotes which Will Give True Meaning to Your Life!

Shilpi Singh

11 Famous Hindu Temples In Kerala you must visit once in lifetime

Geethu Lekshmi MP

Akshaya Tritiya: Celebration, Importance and history

Top 15 most popular Lord Krishna Temples in India

Ashish Gupta

Leave a Comment