Image default
Lifestyle Mythology

Chakras and The Human Body – The complete beginner’s guide

Realising the importance of Chakras and the energy they yield are important for all of us. According to Yoga tradition, the subtle body is a part of you that you cannot see or touch.  It is where the energy flows which is why it is also referred to as the energy body. There are seven key points in the subtle body that are thought to be vortexes of energy or chakras. When energy becomes blocked in a chakra, it triggers physical, mental or mental imbalances that manifest in symptoms such as anxiety, lethargy or poor digestion. 

In Sanskrit, the word chakra translates to a wheel or disk. There are several minor chakras but seven main chakras that align along the spine, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. The spheres run along the spine but extend through and past the front back and both sides of the body. Chakras are a spinning vortex of energy which cannot be seen but only felt and sensed with one’s intuition. This invisible healing energy called prana is a vital life force which keeps us healthy, vibrant and alive. 

Some say there are 114 different chakras of which the 7 main chakras run along our spine. Each of these 7 main chakras has a corresponding name, number, colour and specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head and health focus. 

Chakras of Matter

Each chakra holds beliefs, memories and emotions related to specific areas of our life. The lower Chakras are related to Earthly matters such as survival, sex and power. The top three Chakras are related to higher consciousness, truth, intuition and purpose. The heart Chakra in the middle bridges the two worlds with empathy, love and compassion. 

The chakras are an ancient and complex energy system that have their origins in India. With the growth in popularity in Yoga and New Age philosophies, the role of chakras in our daily living is becoming increasingly higher. 

What is Held in a Chakra

Chakras store the energy of thoughts, feelings, memories, experiences and actions. They influence and direct our present and future mindset, behaviour, emotional health and actions. The life force in each chakra can be processed, transmuted and processed so that we consciously manifest what we desire. This subtle body depicts how our inner reality creates our outer reality. The chakras are swirling wheels of energy corresponding to massive nerve centres in the body. It is therefore essential that our seven main chakras remain open, aligned and fluid. If there is a block in any of the chakras, energy flow is restricted. 

7 Main Chakras

Read on to find out more about the 7 main chakras and their importance

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

The root chakra or the muladhara chakra is located at the base of the spine. It provides one with the foundation for life and helps to feel grounded and the ability to withstand challenges.   The root chakra gives a sense of stability and security.  The associated color is red and symbolised by a four petaled lotus with a yellow square at the centre representing the earth element

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

 It is located just below the belly button and is responsible for sexual and creative energy.  It is also related to how you relate to your emotions as well as to that of others.  The associated color is orange and is represented by a lotus within which is the crescent moon symbolising the water element. 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This chakra is located in the stomach area. It is responsible for confidence and self esteem as well as to feel in control of your life. The associated color is yellow and is represented by a downward pointing triangle representing fire in the middle of a ten petaled lotus. 

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is located near the heart in the centre of the chest. This chakra is all about the ability to love and show compassion and connect to others. This fourth chakra is in the middle and connects the lower three chakras of matter and the upper three chakras of spirit. It serves as a bridge between our body, mind, spirit and  emotions. The associated color is green and is represented by two intersecting triangles forming a hexagram, representing the  union of male and female.

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

It gives voice to the heart chakra and controls our ability to communicate and thus located at the throat. It is the source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. This chakra is associated with blue color and the space element. It is represented by sixteen petals covered with sixteen Sanskrit vowels. 

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)

 It is located between the eyes on the forehead.  It controls our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition. It is associated with dark blue or purple color. 

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

It is located at the top of the head. The Sahasrara represents the chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our life’s purpose and spirituality. The associated color is white or violet. 

Being aware of which of the chakras is out of balance is the key to aligning them. Our bodies are in constant flux between balance and imbalance. If one or more of these energy centres get blocked. One way to unblock or rebalance one’s chakras is by doing certain yoga poses. Specific breathing exercises and meditation also help immensely.

Related posts

Banjara Market: House of Nomads | Cheapest Home decor Market In Gurugram

Aayushi Rana

Style and Functionality Combined: 3 Smart Watches for Girls

Ashish Gupta

10 Cool & Best Electronic Gadgets for Men!

Built Just for Indian Roads: Get Your Hands on the Best Electric Scooters in India

Ashish Gupta

Top 10 Best Air Purifiers you can Buy on Amazon!

Top 15 Bhagavad Gita Quotes which Will Give True Meaning to Your Life!

Shilpi Singh

Leave a Comment